Open Studios and an exhibition

Come and see my work at KIAC during Open Studios 2015

 

I’ve spent the last few weeks working on a commission, meeting other artists to talk about potential joint shows, and exploring old industrial sites. It’s been really good to get back into the routine of working as an artist, rather than focusing on my health, about which I’ve had good news. I had an MRI scan in March, and the results came in in mid-April. There’s no sign of the cancer at all. As you can imagine, I was very relieved to have this confirmation of all the other positive indications, and very glad to be living in a country where health care is a basic right for all, delivered by a free at the point of entry health service. The NHS suffers a lot of denigration but I have to say that the standard of treatment and care I have received has been superb, and I suspect that my experience is much more typical than the negatives the media love to focus on.

We spent last week in Majorca, visiting my wife’s sister, and had an excellent walking and eating holiday, which has left me both rejuvenated and inspired. The food out there can be excellent, and I have come back with loads of recipes so that I can indulge one of my other passions, cooking.  I have also come back with loads of ideas, which is timely, as I have two events coming up.

This week I will be finishing of the commission piece, stretching canvasses and curating and hanging an exhibition of life drawing in KIAC’s gage gallery to coincide with this years Open Up Sheffield, an event in which artists across the city open their studios to the general public. Open Up runs across the May bank holiday and the following weekend – May 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 9th and 10th, and I will be there all days. It is my habit to produce at least one painting, starting as the studios open, and completing it during the event. This year my target is two, as I am both very keen to produce new work, and will be exhibiting in early July with my good friend Paul Dearden and want the majority of what I show to be new pieces. I will post more about this later, but July 3rd 2015 is a deadline that I am looking forward to immensely  🙂

Take care and keep smiling 🙂

John

 

2 thoughts on “Open Studios and an exhibition

Leave a Reply

