Torn

image

Torn

2016 has started out fairly well for me, with two paintings being sold, and some interesting possibilities for joint shows and collaborations emerging. I hope to be able to take my practice into a more public environment through residency, and plan to experiment with plein air painting (when the weather improves 🙂 ) In the meantime I am dividing my efforts between research, writing grant applications, admin work for the studio, and painting.

Torn is my second completed work of the year, and is a reflection  of a society increasingly divided, whose members face difficult choices in deciding where their interests lie. It was an interesting and complex piece to create, both in terms of colour and detail planning but also because it has a more figurative element than the bulk of my work. I hope that it works for you 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

