A whole lot going on

Development Opportunity

Development Opportunity

Wow, it’s been a busy 7 weeks since I last posted. Started or completed a group of new paintings – Development Opportunity is the first in a series I’ll be doing exploring the loss of social housing in the UK. I’ve introduced a couple of new techniques into this one, and am rather happy with it – so much so that I have another painting based on it on the go with a different subject.

I’ve opened an Artfinder shop which you can find here – My artfinder to which I’ll be adding more work over the next few months.

I’ve been busy at the studios in a different way as well. As the spring bank holiday approaches, so does our annual Open Studios event, and to prepare for it I and a couple of other members have repainted all the floors and had a huge clear out. We’ve also had the lighting upgraded, and the whole place almost looks respectable 😉

Having a lot of work in stock means that I can respond quickly when the need arises, and I now have 7 paintings in an exhibition at The Gardeners Rest Pub on Neepsend Lane in Sheffield. A real pop-up this, got the call at 11.30am on Friday and had the work over there and installed by 12.30pm same day. The show will be up for a couple of months, so do pop in if you’re in the area 🙂

Finally, I have negotiated and begun a residency at a Sheffield Industrial site, which I will write about in detail in my next blog. In the meantime, I can tell you that I will be producing 14 works from this, to be exhibited in November-December, including one feature work that we will record and share progress on over the period. It’s a good experience, and I have spent the past week working on drawings to capture the site, and help me decide what I will be doing for the feature painting from the residency.

Thanks for reading and I’ll be back soon 🙂

 

John

 

 

Leave a Reply

